Ritalin at Age 26 – Two Weeks Later

It’s been two weeks since I took my first dose of Ritalin, but there isn’t much I can say about the experience.

I forget exactly what my psychiatrist said, but the vial instructs me to take the Ritalin as needed. Because of this, I haven’t even been taking the medication consistently. I could take up to three doses a day, but so far I’ve only been taking one — if any. It’s pretty safe to say that one dose of 10 mg doesn’t do anything noticeable for me.

I think my hesitation to take the Ritalin regularly may be due to my hesitancy to add a fourth medication to my list. I still worry about side effects and long-term risks, so that’s a bit of a psychological hurdle.

Deep down, there may be a bit of a pride issue too. It’s easy to tell myself I’ve gotten by for 26 years, so there’s no sense in taking ADHD medication now. I need to remember that there’s a big difference between getting by and reaching my potential. Things could be so much better with improved focus, memory, emotional control, etc.

Starting tomorrow, I’m going to see if taking the medication twice a day makes any difference. I’m lucky enough to have access to treatment, so I might as well give it a fair shot.

 

Leave a Reply

